Proceedings of the 45th International Philological Conference (IPC 2016)

These are the proceedings of the 45th International Philological Conference that took place on 14-21 March 2016 in St. Petersburg. The Conference has been an annual event held at St. Petersburg State University for the period of over 45 years, which makes it one of the most significant forums for Russian philology. The Conference is traditionally focused on a variety of research topics ranging from general linguistics and literary theory to computational linguistics and testology. In 2016, the Conference included more than forty sections. There was a comprehensive programme including parallel sessions and roundtable discussions, as well as separate sessions within Andreev Readings, Derzhavin Readings and French Readings.

The wide geographical representation has always been a distinguishing feature of the Conference. In 2016, participants from over 80 Russian and foreign universities, colleges and research institutes and centres presented their papers at parallel and plenary sessions. Among the speakers one can find researchers from various regions of Russia, states of the former Soviet Union, and other foreign countries. The conference also gives a comprehensive picture of almost all aspects of humanities in St. Petersburg.

The International Philological Conference traditionally attracts young researchers—both post-graduate students and candidates of science (holders of the first doctoral degree). They account for approximately one third of all participants. The papers published in these proceedings present the key developments in various areas of philological, linguistic and cultural studies. All the papers were double-blind peer reviewed and have a special emphasis on various facets of philology: Russian language, Russian and foreign literatures, theory of language, theory of culture, and cultural studies.

The editors would like to give special thanks to the programme committee members, the conference chairpersons and all the paper reviewers for their professional work and assistance.


Sergey. I. Monakhov
Irina E. Vasilyeva
Maria V. Khokhlova